Luke 6

« Back | Next »

Controversy on the Sabbath, the selection of 12 apostles, and the Sermon on the Mount are in Luke 6.

Sabbath Day

Sabbath was counted from sunset on Friday to sunset on Saturday. God rested on the seventh day and blessed it (Exodus 20:8-11). He made the Sabbath day for man (Mark 2:27).

The Pharisees objected to the disciples picking grain on the Sabbath because it violated their traditions. Breaking the Sabbath was punishable by death (Exodus 31:15).

Luke 6 Outline

Jesus is Lord of the Sabbath
Disciples pick grain on the Sabbath
Jesus heals a man’s hand on the Sabbath
Jesus selects 12 men to be Apostles
Jesus prays all night on a mountain
Jesus names 12 apostles
Jesus heals multitudes
Sermon on the Mount (compare Matthew 5-7)
Four Beatitudes
Four Woes
Golden rules of love
Warnings about blind guides
Application: Wise and Foolish Builders

Omniscience of Jesus

Jesus had total knowledge. Jesus read men’s thoughts before he healed the man with the withered hand (Luke 6:8). John testified of Jesus’ omniscience in John 2:24-25: “But Jesus would not entrust himself to them, for he knew all men. He did not need man’s testimony about man, for he knew what was in a man.”

Beatitudes and Woes

The word “beatitude” is derived from the Latin word “beatus” which means blessed or happy. The Sermon on the Mount opens with statements that begin with the word “blessed.”

Each beatitude in Luke’s account has a corresponding woe. For example, the first beatitude, “Blessed are you who are poor,” corresponds with the first woe, “But woe to you who are rich.”

Fast Facts

  • Jews passing through a neighbor’s vineyard or field were allowed to eat the produce; provided they did not harvest or collect it for future consumption (Deuteronomy 23:25).
  • Jesus sat while delivering the Sermon on the Mount. Rabbis traditionally sat while teaching because sitting connoted authority.
« Back | Next »